I’m a lucky guy…

I woke up this morning to the light creeping between the blinds of the glass sliding doors in our bedroom.  As my wife wished me Merry Christmas, the cat bounded across the bed spreading holiday cheer as only she can.  It was a beautiful south Florida morning and since it was Christmas, I felt it was a good enough reason to take a momentary break from building a brewery, leave the stress behind and enjoy the day.

I immediately got to work making biscuits.  Some friends that live down the street had baked a ham and was nice enough to share.  Spreading good cheer is one thing, sharing honey glazed ham is another thing altogether.  As the biscuits were rising in the oven, I began to prepare our Christmas turkey for the smoker.  I slicked up the skin with a stick of butter, rubbed spices all over the bird, and lit the smoker, waiting for the temperature to rise and the hickory smoke to engulf the back porch around the pool.

As the glazed ham and strawberry jam biscuits were served, I popped a bottle of champagne and we sat down for breakfast.  A few spider webs high in the pool screen glistened in the sun while Dean Martin wished us a Merry Christmas.  While I do miss being with family this time of year, relaxing in the sun out by the pool sipping champagne at 9am is a bit of consolation.  And the biscuits were amazing.

After breakfast we opened a few presents.  My wife’s parents had sent down a handful of things, one of which was a gigantic box of Belgian chocolates.  Since the champagne was already opened, well, you know the rest.  Jodi had given me some new basil plants so we did a little gardening to ensure that they would be comfortable and productive.  I got her a new french press and we decided that as soon as the champagne bottle was empty we’d take it for a spin.  All in all, not a bad morning.  With any luck one day I’ll have another one just like it.

Now it’s past noon and we’re discussing the rest of our day.  We’re probably going to take a drive to the beach and breathe a little salt air.  Afterward we’ll return home and make our reservations for Extreme Beer Fest and the Craft Brewers Conference.  While I am looking forward to San Diego in May, to get me excited about Boston in February you’re going to have to drag out some pretty good beer.  Extreme Beer Fest is designed for just that so we’ll brave the weather and travel 1500 miles to drink some of the best beer in the world.

My guess is we’ll cap off the evening stuffing ourselves with smoked turkey (and more Belgian chocolates), watching National Lampoon’s ‘Christmas Vacation’ and going on and on about how lucky we are to be where we are, doing what we’re doing and being able to do it together.  Building Due South Brewing Co. is our dream and it’s finally coming together.  You have to give thanks for that.

I hope all of you have a wonderful holiday and wish you the best in the coming year.  I’ll update everyone soon on the brewery but for today, I’m relaxing.  Meandering through the day with a stupid grin on my face, feeling the sun and breeze on my skin and making an effort to notice the little things that are missed at my ordinary, frantic pace.

Merry Christmas everyone and thank you again for all that you’ve done for us.  We truly are very lucky.

Cheers!

Mike

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

